Our People

The people of Biomimicry 3.8 and the Biomimicry 3.8 Institute are, without a doubt, our most precious natural resources. Our multi-disciplinary team is comprised of professionals who are highly passionate about biomimicry and sustainable innovation, and it is their spirit, skill, focus, and dedication that fosters and maintains our innovative culture. The majority of our staff members work out of our headquarters in Missoula, Montana, but we have other staff, instructors, and associates in more than two dozen cities and several countries including Mexico, South Africa, Canada, and Turkey.


View biographies here

Chris Allen Partner & Co-Founder

Dayna Baumeister Partner & Co-Founder

Janine Benyus Partner & Co-Founder

Bryony Schwan Co-Founder and Director of Strategic Partnerships, Biomimicry 3.8 Institute


Management Team 

View biographies here

Nicole Hagerman Miller Managing Director, Biomimicry 3.8

Richard P. Moog Director of Finance & Administration

Beth Rattner Executive Director, Biomimicry 3.8 Institute



View biographies here

Estella Anderson M.Ed, Executive Assistant

Mark Dorfman Green Chemist & Research Analyst

Jamie Dwyer Biologist & Design Strategist

Melissa Fryday Staff Accountant

Lou Ghaddar MFA, UX Designer

Scott Halstvedt AskNature Technical Specialist

Gretchen Hooker MID, Education Specialist

Jessica Jones Graphic Designer

Robyn Klein MSc, Biologist & Research Analyst

Angela Klinefelter Financial Manager

Diana Lee Individual Giving & Outreach Manager

Andrea Leggitt Visual Designer

Erin Leitch Director of Certification & Design Srategist

Jennifer Schill AskNature Content and Community Manager

Megan Schuknecht Director of University Education & Relations

Ali Solomon Communications Specialist

Glenna Tawney Administrative Specialist

Colin Worf Technology Specialist


Institute Board 

View biographies here

Cynthia Hester | Board President

Janine Benyus

Alex O’Cinneide

David Oakey

Duke Stump

Ashok K. Goel

John Elkington